4.10.4 Restart Settings

4.10.4 Restart Settings

The restart settings tab is used to create and manage how hosts are restarted. 
The tab shows a List of all restart settings. If there are no restart settings Tags* you can create one to enable manual request to Restart one or many hosts. 
Idea
*Restart Settings can also be created directly using: button in relevant pages (Hosts, Application, Groups or Tags Page) 

Restart Settings tab Action 

In the Restart Settings tab, you can: Create a new Restart Settings, Edit Selected Restart Settings and Edit Default Restart Settings.

Create a New Restart Settings 

You can also Create a new Restart setting. 
To do so: 
  1. On The Restart Settings Tab Click on Create New Restart Settings. 

  2. A menu will pop up

  3. Give it a name and an optional description.
    For the Restart Settings, depending on your Default Restart Settings it may already have been filled. 
  4. Notification Dialog Title, is the window Title for notification dialog (the dialog box that appears on the host). The special string %deadline% can be used as a token and will be replaced but the actual final deadline gets displayed on local time for the host.
  5. Notification Dialog Message, the window body text for notification dialogs related to host restart. It also has the special string %deadline%


    This figure shows the dialog box that pop up when a restart policy has been manually requested on an endpoint 
  6. Grace Period with Snooze, the time from when a restart of a host is requested until the restart is forced and the user can no longer snooze(delay the restart)
    1. During this period the notification dialog will appear every few minutes and the user can choose to either: ▪
      1. Restart immediately 
      2. Snooze to close the notification dialog 
  7. Snooze Delay, If the user clicks the Snooze button, then the notification dialog disappears and will reappear once the Snooze delay has passed.
    1. When the Grace period has passed, then the user still has a Grace period with no Snooze to save their work.
  8. Grace Period with NO Snooze, Once the Grace Period with Snooze has passed, then the user is notified that the system is restarting and the Grace Period with no Snooze begins.
    1. During the Grace Period with NO Snooze, the user cannot snooze or avoid the restart, but they can continue using their system, usually to save their work.
  9. When finished click Create Restart Settings. 

Edit Selected Restart Settings 

On the Configuration in the Restart Settings Tab, you can edit and manage restart settings. 
To do so: 
  1. Selected a Restart Tag by clicking 
  2. Click on the Edit Selected Restart Settings button bottom of the page.

  3. A new menu will appear 
  4. Make the desired changes. 

Edit Default Restart Settings 

The third button is to Edit the Default Restart Settings. Which are used to pre-fill fields when creating new Restart Settings.